Did you know blogging is the new persuasive essay?

While researching information for my assignment I came across a blog by Shelley Wright who discusses how blogging is the new persuasive essay.

Students can learn to use transition words, embed quotations to support their argument, consider the advantages of active vs. passive voice, vary their sentences, and develop other skills in the hope of creating a strong argument.

Blogs have many benefits as I have experienced in this course and if we are mindful of preparing our students for our technological world I think being able to blog will have varied benefits. It allows for positive interactions with others where feedback and comments can be made.

I think blogging in each subject across the curriculum allows for students to become creative writers of a real audience. Blogs can also encourage students to be more imaginative as they create a persuasive post that could convince a range of audiences.

I am now a huge fan of blogging and see the real value of sharing ideas and resources as a professional and hope to develop my writing skills through new and interesting blogs I create myself. To teach students to blog effectively I think we need to learn how to create interesting blogs ourselves.

4 thoughts on “Did you know blogging is the new persuasive essay?

Leave a Reply

