Tip of the Week & Reflection

The Tip of the Week – Pace yourself, don’t be in a hurry!

Oh What a week! I am happy to report that it has been a success.  I have managed to finish the tasks of the learning path. I decided to pace myself taking one step at a time which has been important to avoid feelings of being overwhelmed.   I have learnt from this experience that when we take time to stop and think and look back on something or dig deeper by re-reading an article, that’s when we really learn.  Understanding happens as Bloom (1956) suggests when a student has the ability to marshal skills and facts wisely, through effective application, analysis, synthesis and evaluation where they can explain why a particular skill or approach is appropriate in a particular situation.

As the week has unfolded there has been a shift in my thinking and I have embraced the ‘growth mindset’. I previously believed IT was a stand alone subject to be taught through direct instruction in a computer lab.  The websites that I have explored have shown me that the possibilities are only limited to our imagination. Planning engaging lessons using technology can be integrated into the classroom in a meaningful way to include cross curriculum priorities.  I have a keen interest in IT and believe an IT degree would definitely be worthwhile to effectively teach into the future.

Thomas Edison (1922) prophesied that the motion picture was ‘destined to revolutionise our educational system and in a few years it would supplant largely if not entirely the use of textbooks (cited in Oppenheimer 1997, p.1.)

References:

Burnett, B., Meadmore, D., & Tait, G. (2004). New questions for contemporary teachers: Taking a socio-cultural approach to education. Frenchs Forest, N.S.W:Pearson Education.

Wiggins, G.P., & McTighe, J. (2005). Understanding by design (2nd ed.).Alexandria, VA: Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development.

One thought on “Tip of the Week & Reflection

  1. What a great post! It wasn’t until I read it that I realised that I had always thought of IT as a stand alone subject, perhaps because this was how I was taught it and I’m struggling with all facets of this course at the moment. At a child acre conference it was pointed out to me that educators/teachers should be taking their ipads outside and taking photos of insects, enlarging the picture and using the internet to find out information about them. What a wonderful science lesson for students.

Leave a Reply

